Advertisement

The week ahead: 3 stories you need to know

Besides the world watching the health of President Donald Trump, the Nobel Peace Prize winner will be announced and the vice presidential candidates debate is scheduled to take place. Here's what you need to know.

Advertisement

The start of a new week begins as the nation and world turn their eyes to the health of President Donald Trump. Here’s what to watch.

President remains at Walter Reed

Trump remains at Walter Reed Medical Center, where he has received treatment for COVID-19.

The White House has said Trump would continue to work from its presidential suite, which is equipped to allow him to keep up his official duties.

The president's health represents a national security issue of paramount importance not only to the functions of the U.S. government but to countries around the world, friendly and otherwise.

Vice presidential candidates debate

Vice President Mike Pence and Sen. Kamala Harris are scheduled to debate Wednesday in Salt Lake City.

There were no plans, as of late Saturday, to postpone or cancel the debate, which airs at 6 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. CT / 9 p.m. ET Wednesday.

The Commission on Presidential Debates and both campaigns agreed Friday to increase the space between Pence and Harris on the debate stage from 7 feet to 12 feet.

Nobel Peace Prize announced

On Friday, the Norwegian Nobel Committee is announcing the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize winner, following a week of other Nobel Prize winners.

After a year brutally dominated by conflict, division, economic uncertainty and a pandemic, the awarding of the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize will mark a rare moment of hope.

There are 318 candidates, of which 211 are individuals and 107 are organizations, but as per tradition their names will not be divulged for 50 years.

The Associated Press and CNN contributed to this report.